Craigslist love

My mom gets major points in the “finding amazing deals on craigslist” game.  She actually found our sofa – which was new, still wrapped in plastic, and a really nice, high-quality piece – on CL about four years ago.  Every once in a while, she sends me a link to something totally rad from CL.  Last week it was a link to a set of three vintage reproduction Wassily chairs. 

A couple of things that make this find notable:

1.  The Dude loves modern.  L-O-V-E-S modern.

2.  Real Wassily chairs are stoopid expensive and hard to find. 

3.  Good repro chairs are still pretty expensive (you can find them maybe for $500-$700 a piece, plus tax, shipping, etc.)

4.  They look like this:

Hello, gorgeous.

My style is a little more cottage, a little less modern.  But even I have a soft spot for iconic chairs and love the Domino Mag-esque (R.I.P., tear) mix of modern and not-so. 

Off we went to check them out.  

They were listed for $150 a piece, $300 for all three.  After chatting with the fab couple selling them, they agreed to sell me all four (there was a fourth with some substantial damage) for $150.  Are you kidding me?  Done.

I really only wanted two and each of them has a little damage/needs a little work, but all of the leather pieces can be removed and swapped out.  There are definitely enough pristine pieces that by combining components I think I can swing two pretty much near-perfect chairs.  Total deal. 

At first I had thought they would end up in my den – they’re so slouchy and really comfortable and would make great T.V.-watching chairs.  But now I am thinking they might end up in the living room.  I checked a blog I read on the regular, and saw this gorgeous image:

This designer – Brad Ford ID – is crazy good.  Love his mix of modern pieces with really natural, organic feeling stuff (sisal, linen, etc.).  I am thinking that with a little work, the Wassily chairs could easily fit in my living room plans.  Take a look at his site – drool fest on line 1, people.

Love this:

Enjoy the pretty pictures.  And big ups, Mom.  Thanks again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Craigslist love

  1. Kim says:

    What an amazing score! If you went to design within reach you would probably pay about $2k. I want to “subscribe” to your mom’s CL finds ;)!

    The chairs are awesome whatever room, Meg!

Leave a comment